THE EMPEROR’S NEW CLOTHES

first flowersHi everyone, I’m finally back after some days of not being able to post and some technical difficulties so thank you so much for your patience! The student access pages are up and running again and fully updated and now we can also continue sharing stories here. It’s no big secret that I was born in Venezuela and with everything that has been going on these past few weeks I felt compelled to write a little something, if only to work through everything that is coming in and out of my head every time I hear a piece of news or read an article. I am of course not an expert in politics, I am however a lover of books, of stories, of the wise words of so many writers that seemed to be especially crafty at putting down on paper what people were feeling and living through. That being said, today, in light of the tumultuous news and events (is it me or has the world gone kind of cuckoo on our watch?) I want to simply share with you a gem of a story written by the great Hans Christian Andersen. I am of course talking about his wonderfully allegoric short story “The Emperor’s New Clothes”. You can read it here, and I urge you to read until the end (it’s not that long and it will be worth it!). In the end it takes just one little boy to shed light on the issue at hand, I hope we can all learn a little bit from this story and be the little voice in the back of the room that says STOP!

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, children’s stories were meant to be read again as adults and this is certainly one that should be on the adult required summer reading list!

I leave you with the first signs of Spring, these beautiful little pink blossoms adorned our street as Nala and I walked around this morning. Aren’t they lovely? Please share your comments about the story below! You know how much I love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

