UPDATE FROM MY VAST EXPANSE

Spanish countrysideHi everyone! I’m changing things up a little bit today and instead of bringing you our traditional Sunday Best edition I wanted to simply stop by and say hello since I wasn’t able to write this week. I also have an amazing story to tell you and have some very special photos to show you. I hope you got the chance to read my post titled ‘Beyond the Line of Trees’ about the incredible place I found last week (if you didn’t, or wish to read it again click here). Madrid sceneryIt has become my little sanctuary and such an incredible place to just walk around and see the look of excitement in Nala as she jumps and strolls down the hills. Two days after I wrote the post I mention above, we went back there very early in the morning. I decided to explore a different hill this time and as I was approaching it I saw a white figure in the distance. I walked closer and I couldn’t believe my eyes. This is who we saw, right in the middle of the city, between two highways in my little piece of heaven.

meadow

horse grazing

It was a huge day for Nala since she had never seen a horse before. She was incredibly intrigued but kept her distance. We sat down in awe of this creature being so free and grazing the hills in the morning sun. Just as every animal should be. It was apparent that he wasn’t a wild horse (we’re in the middle of the city after all), he was groomed and had a brace around his head (sorry horse lovers if I’m using this term incorrectly!). Straight ahead there was a small house with a wall around it and I could hear other animals, so I’m guessing this beautiful white horse lives there and is let out by its owners to graze freely. I’m not sure if that place is a farm or just a house with many animals, but there weren’t any people around and the horse was happy walking around and wagging its tail.

for the animals

Nala was mesmerized and kept looking at him and eventually started grazing herself! She usually does this so don’t think it was because of the horse, but it was such a treat to see both of these creatures doing the same thing at the same time. I looked at this horse in a way I had never looked at any other before, partly because of some changes I’ve been making lately which you’ll hopefully hear about very soon in the new blog (if I can find the time to do it that is!).dog and horse grazing

The next day we went back to find him but he wasn’t there. The hill was empty and Nala kept looking around in the direction where we had seen him last. I hope we get to meet him again some day. It made this special place even more special.

I hope you have a wonderful Sunday! I’m off to lunch with friends and I can’t wait for them to try the two treats I created for this meal, a crispy crunchy pressed salad and homemade vegan peanut butter cups, both from Alicia Silverstone’s amazing book “The Kind Diet” (highly recommended!). We’ll talk about it more soon in The Red Bookcase. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

