FARMER’S MARKET

farmer's market standHappy Saturday everyone! For some reason I woke up bright and early in spite of the foggy winter morning we had today so I decided to jump out of bed put on some jeans and go to the farmer’s market for some goodies. Here are some photos of my little morning expedition.
farmer's market in Madrid

The thick fog made this even more fun, and the cute doggie below was doing his veggie shopping as well.

dog at farmer's market

There’s nothing like the bright colors nature provides right? Isn’t this amazing?

Shopping for veggiesOur local farmer’s market is particularly special. The farmers are extremely friendly and they kept giving me presents and free tastings! I tried some fresh tomatoes and cherries on the spot, and they gave me a huge bunch of fresh parsley as a gift at the end. Lucky me!

Madrid farmer's marketI’m a huge vegetable fan and can’t keep away from them. My hubby and I have been trying to reduce our meat consumption lately so today I got to go crazy buying all my goodies since we’ve been saving so much money on our regular groceries. The great thing about the farmer’s market is that it’s an easy way to see what’s in season and buy as local as possible. Too bad we only have it on Saturdays!

Farmer's market

I have this little habit of trying to buy from all the different vendors. They each have their own specialty and I get to chat with all the funny and quirky  characters. After I finished buying all my goodies, I bought some whole grain bread, some organic noodles for later, and went back home where I had a hungry doggie and hubby waiting for me. We had some fresh cut strawberries on the side just because they looked so incredible! We couldn’t wait. Here’s a picture of all the delicious treats I bought today.

VegetablesThe apples, peppers and eggplants aren’t in the picture but they were just as colorful and delicious as the rest of these beauties. I hope you have a great Saturday and I’ll see you tomorrow for Sunday Best!

 

 

Leave a Reply

