THE INTERESTING HOME PROJECT

arts and crafts for eslI had a busy busy Sunday with all the cooking you read about in yesterday’s post. Followed by a little run, some much needed tv time and of course, lesson planning. I’m working on a project with one of my young students (age 9), which we’ve called “The Interesting Home Project”. We had a lesson on vocabulary that included mill, windmill, treehouse, castle, space shuttle, submarine, cave, teepee, among others, all in the fun concept of people who live in unique homes. He had a blast, especially because I made a Keynote presentation for him with these crazy real life photographs of strange houses from all over the world. Even the young ones are fascinated by real life stories and photos (plus they go nutty with the Keynote transitions so it’s a win-win!). At the end of the lesson we started our project and he got to choose one unique and interesting home that we would design together and write about (also to incorporate previous vocabulary and grammar such as rooms of the house, common objects and the present simple). His choice: a treehouse with a garage right inside the tree trunk (genius right?). So last night I decided to cut up some 3D leaves for the branches out of different materials and I’m going to show them to him today. I can’t wait to see his face when he realizes his tree will be 3D! I’ll post a photo of how the project is coming along (he doesn’t want me to take it until it looks really good and of course I respect his little work in progress). There is no better involvement for a student than these kinds of projects, especially if they’re allowed to think outside the box and show you their wonderful imagination. The amount of English that is used while making them is fantastic as well.

Speaking of unique homes, take a look at this man’s journey into designing an eco friendly tiny home: Tumbleweed, the tiny house company. Thanks to our reader and beloved friend Rachel for this amazing link!

2 thoughts on “THE INTERESTING HOME PROJECT

  1. Great for him…and you. When my son was in kindergarden, the teacher had a project to glue pasta to a cardboard cross. All the students poured on the glue and tossed on the pasta…my son was the ONLY child to glue ziti, penne, wagon wheels in 3D AND symetrically (which isn’t taught until 1st grade!) I hung it on my wall for years but during my “lost years” it disappeared. Wish I had a picture of it now. The memory lives on! it is so good to commemorate these things in pictures!

  2. Thanks for sharing your story Marisa! I’m sure your son’s teacher was incredibly impressed. My student loved the leaves and immediately started to come up with these incredible ways of putting the leaves together. I’ll post a photo when he’s finished the project. How is life back on the teaching sphere treating you?! I read you have some amazing coworkers. That’s so important!

Leave a Reply

