THE THING ABOUT SUMMER AND CHANGES

The first time I wrote a blog was a couple of years ago, and this beautiful shot of The Lawn at Central Park was one of the first photos to make the cut. I took it in the summer of 2010 and it marked the beginning of something very special, the launch of my little enamel and jewelry design business Jewels in the Attic and all the exciting adventures that have come with it. The photo below was taken this summer when I went to Bilbao, Spain to attend the annual BBK Live music festival, and once again, a trip involving a rolling lawn has marked one of the big changes in my life. Let me explain for those of you that might be new to this blog. I’m Kim, I’m a Venezuelan, ex New Yorker, current Madrileña who has spent the last 8 years working as a jewelry and enamel artist and as of April 2012, a mere two days after my 30th birthday, found my second passion in life. I’ve heard so many people say that you find your true self after 30 and I’m not sure if that’s entirely true for everyone, but something strange has been happening to me since that day, and new beginnings have reared their beautiful heads without me having any control over it.

A few months ago, I was feeling restless after so many years of working on my own in a little studio, having a blast, but slightly isolated from everyone else, and I started craving something different. I wanted to be around people and start something new. I wanted something that would still go well with my business, but where I could work with others and maybe even make a difference somehow. So, when the time came to choose what my next adventure would be, I looked into my other favorite things, the English language and the wise words of my husband that had been echoing in my head for months (I would say years but I don’t want him to think he’s always right! Which by the way is actually the case most of the time). Long story short, I went back to school and got certified as an English teacher. Many moons ago I had the experience of teaching English to young children, but I was very young myself, and never really thought of it in a serious way since I was going down such a different road with my business.

Nothing prepared me for what was going to happen. It turns out everyone was right, it’s never too late to dream and its never too late to accomplish either. I’ll fill you in on more of the details in future posts, but basically I’m now wondering… How do you say thank you when you find two jobs you simply love?

The only downside to having two occupations now is that there’s a lot less time for everything, which is why I’ve joined my passions to create ‘Blackboard and Brush’ and hopefully now I’ll  have more time to spend with you guys. Prepare to be in the midst of very special and colorful pictures, tales of the teaching world and the characters I’m meeting along the way, and of course, what we always love to talk about: creativity, living creatively, working creatively, and now teaching creatively. Thanks for coming with me in yet another storytelling adventure!

5 thoughts on “THE THING ABOUT SUMMER AND CHANGES

  1. Pingback: I CHOOSE HOW… AND WHAT… | blackboard and brush

  2. Kim! It’s so wonderful to have you here! I can’t even tell you how happy it makes me! I’ll keep the blog posts coming of course! And I hope to have you again as a guest soon too with your amazing photographs! Thanks for always stopping by. Kim S.

Leave a Reply

